Our Governors

Governing Body Sept 2022 – July 2023

The Schools of St Alphege have an extremely effective and supportive Governing Body. The Governing Body includes elected representatives of parents and teachers as well as representatives of the local authority, community and the Diocese.

The Governors are the immediate lay support for the professional staff of the school. The Governing Body meets once a half-term to discuss strategic decisions and school improvement. Each member of the Governing Body serves for four years and shares, with the headteacher, the responsibility for the running of the school.

They and their committees meet regularly each half-term to make decisions which affect the general policy of the school, the appointment of staff and the management of finances. Governors can only act together, they cannot act individually.

All of our governors are allocated a subject or aspect to which they are paired; this enables governors to have a hands-on understanding of the day-to-day ethos and values of the school. The Diocese of Birmingham and the PCC appoint the Foundation Governors who represent the Founding Trust of the schools. They have a special role to play in serving both school and Church. All governors may be contacted via the school office.

The Federation of St. Alphege Church of England Infant and Junior Schools Governing Body 2022 - 2023

Name of GovernorPosition HeldGovernor TypeAppointed/ Elected byDate of first AppointmentDate of Latest Re-appointmentDate Appointment ExpiresDate of Resignation
James BowaterPartentParents25/03/202324/03/2027
Kathryn ClarkeLA GovernorLA08/12/202009/04/202108/04/2025
Mark CoombsCo-optedGoverning Body01/10/201801/10/202231/09/2026
Sarah Curtis-SpenceParentParents25/03/202324/03/2027
Catherine EatonPCCPCC06/11/201806/11/202205/11/2026
Victoria EpplestonePCCPCC03/07/2021-02/07/2025
John McDermottChairPCCPCC06/10/201614/07/202213/07/2026
Jayne McGowanStaffStaff03/06/2020-02/06/2024
Fr Simon MarshallRector’s RepresentativeEx-officioRectorDec 2013Ex-officio
Jane MartinCo-optedGoverning Body21/06/202320/06/2027
Michael MorrisSolihull SchoolSolihull School11/11/2021-10/11/2025
Fr Barrie ScottVice-ChairAdvisorDioceseJanuary 2023Ex-officio
Sam SmithHead TeacherHead Teacher-10/04/2023Permanent whilst HT and wishing to be a governor
Simon StanionDiocesanDiocesePre-200020/03/202219/03/2026
Charlotte TaylorDiocesanDiocesan13/07/202312/07/2027
Governors who have left within the last twelve months
Liz HughesCo-optedGoverning Body09/07/201401/01/201931/12/2022
Rob MorrisseyHead TeacherHead Teacher-24/04/201721/12/2022
Jayne DawParentParents25/03/201924/03/202324/03/2023
Pam PriceChairDiocesanDiocese02/09/201111/07/201910/07/202315/06/2023
Fiona SmythAssociate MemberGoverning Body04/12/201703/12/202102/12/202513/07/2023
Carol SouthworthVice-ChairPCCPCCPre-200001/01/202131/12/202413/07/2023
Meryl HomerPCCPCC01/01/201701/01/202131/12/202425/07/2023